Review: Puma Fenty by Rihanna Satin Bow Sneaker

Rihanna never ceases to amaze us with her music. Yet, it’s evident that she has become much more than a music artist. She has now a prominent style icon in the fashion world and this can be seen through her collaboration with Puma. Her Creeper Sneakers were one of the trends that hit when she debuted with her collaboration with Puma.

Rihanna’s current collection in her collaboration with Puma is Marie-Antoinette themed with colors ranging from pink, dark green, white and lilac. Her collection extends from apparel, footwear, chokers, hats and backpacks.

20170416_132201

I got my hands on a pair of Satin Bow Sneakers at Bloomingdales in Aventura Mall when I was back in Miami during spring break. I remember the sales associate telling me that I just bought the last pair in size seven and a half. I felt like the happiest person in the world and my mom urged me to share my latest purchase on social media. I didn’t share it but rather kept the glee to myself. When I got them, the only shades available were pink and green. However, new arrivals of the same style of the shoe have recently come out with a lavender and cream version as seen here.

20170416_132058

The shoe is very comfortable to wear. They fit perfectly to my feet and are snug. I love how these don’t have shoe laces but instead take the concept of a slip-on sneaker. I wore these shoes during a seven-hour trip from Miami to Gainesville and I felt fine. The bow at the front of the sneaker doesn’t come loose or is it required to be tied.

In terms of style, the shoe is elongated compared to the adidas Superstar sneakers. Also, the sole is quite thick, but as seen in the picture, goes down in height heading to the tip of the sneaker. This almost gives the sneaker a kind of “heel” as the sole is higher in height under your foot’s heel. In no way does this mean though that the sneaker resembles a high heel in terms of wearability.

20170416_131717 - Copy

The color of the shoe is wonderful. The satin gives the shoe a nice sheen but it’s not overly shiny. The shade of pink may be the same throughout the shoe but the sole is a lighter shade of pink. The satin also makes the shoe seem to have different kinds of pink designed throughout.

20170416_131756 - Copy

The only thing I do have to say about these sneakers is that I’m too scared to wear them as I don’t want to ruin them. I’ve only worn them a few times and that’s pretty much it. If you look closely at the picture, you can see slight “wrinkles” on the sneakers. These aren’t scratches and I’ve checked to make sure that they weren’t. Rather, from use and walking around in them these creases just develop. I’ve researched on methods to see if these are removable and they are. I wanted to point this out, just in case anyone reading is interested in purchasing these. Don’t freak out if you may see these creases on your pair of shoes as they’re normal for sneakers. Also, be careful of scratches as satin can easily be scratched in contact with sharp objects.

Final Verdict

Style: 10/10

The style is perfect for those who are girly but want to be girly in comfort.

Comfort: 9/10

The chose is very comfortable. I gave the shoe nine out of ten though, because of the creases and the worry that I have when wearing them.

Price: 6/10

Let’s be honest, not many people have $160 to splurge on a pair of sneakers. I rated the shoe based on it’s purchasability to the general public in relation to how it is just a pair of sneakers. However, when taken into consideration the look, brand and quality of the sneakers I think the $160 are worth it. I know that many fashion enthusiasts out there wouldn’t mind the price for what they’re getting.

Conclusion

Yes, there are sneakers out there that look nice and are much cheaper than the Puma Fenty sneakers. Yet, if you’re looking for a good pair of sneakers and are willing to pay less than $200, do add the Puma Fenty Satin Bow Sneaker to your list. I buy shoes rarely but when I find something that I love and believe that it’s worth it, I go for it. This is the case for these pair of sneakers.

With love,

Sam

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

